You Won’t Like Ed Norton When He’s Angry…

Incredible HulkFrom eFluxMedia:

The debut of “The Incredible Hulk” trailer released Wednesday night comes on the background of some dissensions between the lead actor Edward Norton and the Marvel Studios execs, over the film’s final cut, Deadline Hollywood reports.

Insiders say that Norton “was promised tremendous involvement and access” into the movie, and now there is “a lot of posturing going on between Edward’s camp and Marvel over how you edit the final version.”

The sources, which were not named, have also revealed that Norton has been meeting with Marvel Studios Chairman David Maisel, Marvel Studios president of production Kevin Feige, and director Louis Leterrier, and they are all trying to “reach an amicable resolution” to this feud.

Norton rewrote the scrip of the $150+ million production, and he is also the lead actor playing the role of Bruce Banner, which has been previously portrayed by Eric Bana in 2003.

The movie is due to be released on June 13 this year.

Norton has expressed his views as far as editing is concerned with other films, such as “Frieda” and “Keeping the Faith.” “[…] to me the whole thing was to envision it in multiple parts. We left a lot out on purpose. It’s definitely intended as chapter one,” Norton said in an interview earlier this year.

“The Incredible Hulk” is directed by Louis Leterrier, and is said to be more action-oriented than Ang Lee’s 2003 flick.

Edward Norton seems to slowly be building a reputation for himself as someone who is difficult to work with, starting with his butting heads with Tony Kaye during the editing process of American History X and continuing his reputation with The Italian Job and the other films mentioned in the article above. I’m a fan of the man’s acting, not his work in the editing room, and I’m hoping Norton doesn’t become the Kevin Costner of the 2000’s (regarding his unusual desire to involve himself in all aspects of the films he agrees to star in–not based on his acting talent. Norton has it all over Costner.)

The trailer for this Summer’s The Incredible Hulk is strangely uninsipiring–not different enough from the trailer to Ang Lee’s ill-received orginal stab at the “Gamma Goliath” to make fans get excited. Time will tell.

–John

5 Comments

  1. Add Tom Cruise to that list, too. On the commentary for “The Last Samurai,” the director made it clear Tom had a say in every single thing. Jim Carrey also does a little of that. I don’t know if it’s the producer/director side of everyone on set, but the flaming egos makes all actors think they’re the drive for a movie (Steve McQueen was huge with this).

    I thought “Italian Job” was more about his contract, and that he was clear that he didn’t want any part in it.

  2. Thanks for your marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you can be a great author.
    I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and will often come back later in
    life. I want to encourage continue your great writing,
    have a nice afternoon!

  3. Hey there. Sorry to trouble you but I happened to run across your website
    and discovered you are using the exact same template as
    me. The only issue is on my website, I’m unable to get the style and design looking like yours. Would you mind emailing me at: lee.sorensen@yahoo.com so I can get this figured out. By the way I have bookmarked your web page: https://filmcans.wordpress.com/2008/03/13/you-wont-like-ed-norton-when-hes-angry/ and will be visiting often. Thanks alot :)!

  4. money changes people.
    but I don’t care, he’s hot and a awesome actor.

  5. I am no longer certain the place you are getting your info, however great topic.
    I needs to spend some time finding out much more or understanding more.
    Thank you for fantastic information I used to be on the lookout
    for this info for my mission.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment