>> Quarantine (6.5/10)

For some of you, Quarantine‘s final half-hour is going to work so well that you’ll be telling your friends it’s one of the scariest movies you’ve seen in ages.  I wish I was you; I honestly do.  I just couldn’t really get into it; not in a way that put me on the edge of my seat.  Horror, like comedy, is a more subjective genre than most, but I could completely see how and why someone would find Quarantine terrifying.  It frustrates me that I didn’t get that nail-biting, heart-stopping thrill that some of you will get from this movie.

Despite my lack of participation in all the suspenseful goings-on, I still give Quarantine a recommend.  Famed horror director Stuart Gordon once said every movie should show you at least one thing you haven’t seen before.  I suspect my disconnect with Quarantine is because of its lack of originality.  There’s literally nothing on display here that you haven’t seen in other films.  I could synopsize the film as Blair Witch Project meets 28 Days Later, and you can probably figure out the entire plot of the film on your own with just that little equation.

Quarantine is a remake of the Spanish-language film Rec, and to those that moan on imdb.com about the Americanization of every foreign film, I’ve heard that Quarantine is almost exactly the same film as the original, which means that Rec isn’t some untouchable masterpiece–it’s way too derivative of way too many movies that have come before it.  It’s handi-cam horror once again, not even a year removed from Cloverfield, which attempted an injection of cinema verite into a Japanese Kaiju film.  This movie trumps Cloverfield for sure, but can’t entirely escape Cloverfield‘s high-profile shadow.  Quarantine is also a damn sight better than George A. Romero’s Diary of the Dead, which was the most disappointing post-Blair Witch attempt I’ve seen at the pseudo-doc horror flick, and a film that shares more in common with Quarantine than Cloverfield does.

Diary of the Dead was supposed to be a more realistic approach to a zombie outbreak, but it was hampered by unrealistic performances, bad dialogue, and a preoccupation with gimmicky zombie deaths.  Quarantine treads the same ground, but deftly sidesteps the problems that made Diary so weak.  The performances are strong and feel realistic.  The dialogue is natural and serves the story; nobody here is trying to say something meaningful about society–the characters just want to live.  The focus here is strictly on survival, not who gets the coolest death scene.  However, there’s not an original bone in Quarantine‘s body.

I liked Quarantine, but I didn’t love Quarantine.  The good news here is that you just might.  If you feel yourself gripping that arm rest in uncontrolled terror, wide-eyed in panic because of the events transpiring on screen, then God bless ya.  I envy you.

6.5 on a 1 to 10 scale

1 Comment

  1. Omg bro u basically just said what I’ve been thinking since i saw this movie! I guess you envy me because this movie scared the hell outta me and was an awesome experience. After watching it i went to go read reviews and found some weren’t scare at all and some had my reaction! I truly believe that to be scared of this movie you have to froget everything else and really get into as well and you have to sit and wonder what you would do in the characters positions, for me thats what made it so scary. Oh btw i dont care how used up this shaky cam movie thing is i LOVE these kinds of movies….there not for everyone though…


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

