>> Romero Rolls Out “Diary of the Dead 2”

RomeroAlthough “George A. Romero’s Diary of the Dead” won’t be released until next year, the horror filmmaker is moving ahead with plans for a sequel.The new film will pick up where the first one ends. Fighting their way out of a mansion through a horde of ravenous zombies, the survivors of “Diary” escape to a remote island only to be plunged into another battle with the dead.

Principal photography is set to begin in the spring. Romero will direct from his screenplay.

“Diary of the Dead” premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival in September. The Weinstein Co. bought the North American rights.

You can read my original review of Diary of the Dead (when it screened at Austin’s Fantastic Fest) here. I didn’t care for it, and I don’t think I’d pay to see another installment.

–John

Yahoo! Movies

1 Comment

  1. I liked DIARY, but I don’t see the point in a sequel. I thought the main character got her point across in the first film’s documentary, so there wouldn’t necessarily be a need to document further, would there?
    Also, I liked DOTD and all, but I really don’t want to spend more time with the survivors.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

